Mussels in Spicy Tomato Sauce

mussels in spicy tomato sauce

Hello my friends! Hope all is well and that you have not forgotten me. Its been a while since my last post or rather since I last logged on to this site. And I’m deeply touched when a couple of you specially wrote to ask about me. I’ve been busy making some changes to the next stage of my career/life and will need to take another break from sharing my recipes after this till I’ve settled down in another city.

This is a really simple and flavorful dish to make.

big fat mussels

finely chopped garlic

black pepper

sea salt

finely chopped fresh chili (the hottest you can find)

tomato sauce

fresh basil

olive oil

white wine

Heat up olive oil in a pan over medium heat and throw in garlic, chili, pepper and salt. When aroma fills the air, put in mussels follow by a glug of white wine. Once the alcohol evaporates, put in tomato sauce follow by fresh basil and cook for another minute or two.  Serve immediately with crusty bread.

Hope you will like it. Take care everyone. I’ll be back!

58 thoughts on “Mussels in Spicy Tomato Sauce

  1. Hi Danny, what a great pleasure to reading from you again! Acctualy I’m not a hudge fan of Mussels but your recipe sounds so delicious and the picture looks so beautiful maybe I will give them another try.. :-) All the best, take care, Bridget

    • Thank you Bridget :) Hope it will work for you. I realized it is hard to get good ingredients over here….but i will work it out with frozen and dried ones. Can’t wait to start cooking and baking again. Best wishes, Danny.

  2. Hi Danny I was just wondering why you were not posting recently. It is good to see that you are back. I am also settling in a new place actually a new country so my posting have been sporadic Hope to read more of your recipes soon!
    Hugs
    Anto

    • Anto! How are you? I am writing from Hong Kong. Its been a tiring 2 months for me to make the move. I have always admire your energy to move from different countries and still manage to bake and cook so often. You are amazing! Work is busy over here but I will find time to start cooking again soon!
      Hugs
      Danny

  3. No one can forget you, Danny! :-)
    Everything sounds exciting. I wish you the best of luck for this new chapter of your life.
    I do not eat fish but this sounds wonderfully easy to make and the picture is lovely.
    Take care,
    Francesca

    • Hello Francesca! Hope all is well. I’ve finally settled down in Hong Kong. Its been a tiring 2 months since the move started but its all good now. I really hope I can start to cook again soon. And guess what? I’ve shipped my oven over. hee :)
      best wishes,
      Danny

  4. Danny! Oh, I have been thinking about you. Glad to hear that all is well, I do hope that you settle in to the next stage of your life with relative ease. I remember some of our short conversations about work, choices, life etc. I hope that wherever you’ll be next will bring you more appreciation and value. You’re a talented, kind and generous soul and I know that your new workplace will be blessed to have you!

    • Hi my friend! i miss you. And so sorry for my very late reply. I have just settled down in Hong Kong and started work for a month. Work is busy over here but it is not as frustrating. The move was tiring with so many uncertainties when it first started but it’s all worth it. This is the experience I’ve always wanted to have. If things remains smooth, I might be here for quite awhile. Can’t wait to go through all your beautiful posts that I’ve being missing. Hope all is well on your side. Love, Danny

    • Hello Dani! How have you been? I have finally settled down in Hong Kong with my wifi up and running. Work is busy but not frustrating. I can’t wait to start cooking again. Still hunting for appropriate ingredients which is quite scare over here for creating good Italian dishes but I will find them. :)

      • Hi Danny! I’ve been great. So glad you are back and in Hong Kong – wow! How exciting for you. I can’t wait for you to start cooking and posting again too. Good luck with the ingredient search, it will be fun to see what you come up with. So good to hear from you.

    • Hi Pamela. Thank you so much! So sorry I haven’t got time to log on and certainly miss your lovely posts. I’ve just got my wifi up and running in Hong Kong. Hope all is well on your side. You must be busy harvesting all your beautiful produce at the rooftop garden. :)

    • Sophie! How are you? Sorry for this late reply. It was a tiring 2 months for me. Finally settled down in Hong Kong. Thank you so much for your comment. I can’t wait to start cooking again. Hope all is well on your side. :)

  5. So good to hear from you Danny and look forward to hearing more after you get settled. Good luck with everything! In the meantime, THANK YOU for posting about mussels — great reminder that it has been way too long since we have made them! Done in a spicy tomato sauce sounds great!
    Kenley

    • Hello Kenley! Thank you so much and very sorry for my late reply. I’ve just settled down in Hong Kong and started work for a month. Thank god my wifi is finally up and running. You must have turned the mussels into yummy gourmet while i’m away. :) Can’t wait to go through all your posts that I’ve missed. Hope all is well on your side.
      Luv,
      Danny

  6. oh! Danny, I’m very happy to hear from you! ;-) hope you are doing great and taking time to settle in ;-) we will be here when you will be back again!
    hubby would love this mussels recipe very much! :-)
    take care!

    • Hello Ingrid! I miss you. Thank you so much and very sorry for my late reply. I’ve just settled down in Hong Kong with my wifi up and running. Work is good. Just can’t wait to starting cooking again. How have you been? Hope all is well :)

  7. So lovely to come across this post by you Danny! Hope very much that your move goes smoothly and is as stress-free as possible. As you can see by all these wonderful comments, you are very much missed when absent from the blogging world – look forward to seeing you back soon when all is a little more settled in life!
    Thanks for the delicious looking recipe. :)

    • Hello Margot! Thank you so much for the heart warming comment and so sorry for my very late reply. It was a tiring 2 months but I’ve finally settled down in Hong Kong and have started work for a month. I can’t wait to go through all your posts that I’ve missed and also to start cooking again. How are you doing? Hope all is well. Luv, Danny :)

  8. Danny! Missed seeing your posts but understand…I too, haven’t posted in a month…I’m at the very end of finalizing my new site, so I’ve been super busy. This dish is very beautiful, just like all of yours. Nice to see you back, friend :)

    • Brandi! Thank you very much. I miss you :) Saw your posts on facebook. Did you see my likes :) I’ve finally settled down in Hong Kong and started work for a month. Can’t wait to go through all your posts that I’ve missed. Stay gorgeous!

    • Thank you my friend. Sorry for my late reply. The move was tiring but it was a great experience. I’ve finally settled down and will be writing from Hong Kong. Hope all is well on your side. Best wishes to your family. Can’t wait to see your posts that i’ve missed. We talk again :)

    • Gabriela! :) Thank you so much for your nice comment and so so sorry for my very late reply. I have just settle down in Hong Kong and started work for a month. Can’t wait to start cooking and baking again. How have you been? Hope all is well on your side. Big Love, Danny

  9. How do you do that! I mean…how do you turn something so simple into something soooooooooooo special, so sensuous? ..Look at that dish! Straight from heaven! So shiver inducing, so drool inducing.
    You are Man :) And you always do it in Boss style :)

    • Aw….thank you so much my friend and so sorry for my very late reply. I’ve moved to Hong Kong. Last 2 months were tiring. But I’m good now. Can’t wait to start cooking and post from here. :)

    • Hello Vanessa! So sorry for my late reply. I have just settled down in Hong Kong. Started work for a month and finally got my wifi up and running. Can’t wait to go through all your posts that I’ve missed. How are you doing? Hope all is well. Love, Danny :)

    • Hello Sofia. Thank you very much and so sorry for my late reply. I’ve just got my wifi up and running. It’s been a tiring 2 months. I’ve finally settled down and work seems fine. How have you been? Hope all is well. :)

      • Hey wow yeah its been a long time! Everything is fine here (ok, I have a tad of fever today, but I shoudl be ok). I´m glad to know you’re settled now, as all that can be stressful sometimes. :)

    • Thank you my friend. And so sorry for my late reply. I’ve moved to Hong Kong and just settled down for a month. Can’t wait to cook again and share with all of you whom I’ve missed so much. :)

    • Hello! Sonia. I am good. So sorry for my late reply. I’m now working in Hong Kong. Finally got my wifi up and running. Hope all is well on your side. Can’t wait to find time and go through all your posts that I’ve missed. Love, Danny

Leave a Reply

