ARTISAN BREAD

After a success in baking my first basic bread following the recipes from two beautiful bloggers Anto and Kenley , I got adventurous and tried the now popular artisan bread or bread in a pot.

Artisan bread is really easy to make but unfortunately, it just wasn’t the kind of bread texture that I like. My first try botched with the dough being too wet. After adjusting the amount of ingredient, my second attempt turns out well.

The crispy crust was what I wanted but not the internal. Unless I am doing it wrong, the inside of artisan bread is gummy even when it is well done. I did some research and found out that it is due to the long rising time which produces loads of gluten that contributes to its texture.

If you happen to bake it better, please share your experience with me. I would love to know more.

I have always been intimidated by baking but now that I’ve started, I am in for it to try more recipes.

¼ tsp yeast

1 ¼ cups of warm water

1 ½ tsp salt

3 cups of flour

In a bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add salt and flour. Mix all ingredients well, cover with moist towel and leave it to rise for 8 to 12 hours. Sprinkle flour on worktop and fold the dough a few times without over working it. Sprinkle cornmeal, flour or oats into bowl, put the dough in and cover with moist towel to rise for another one hour. Preheat oven with a pot to 475F/245C. Transfer dough into pot, cover with lid and bake for 30 minutes. Remove lid and bake for another 15 minutes. Remove bread from pot and let it cool completely on a wire rack before cutting. 

32 thoughts on “ARTISAN BREAD

    1. Thanks to you. Glad I am into it. Although I am living in Asia, you will be surprise to know that bread is my staple food instead of rice. Hope to get more tips from you on the way. 🙂

      Danny

  1. It’s wonderful that you started baking bread. I am still intimidated by it. This bread looks very good for the first attempt. I would love to have some 🙂

  2. oh wow. havent been here for a long time..n i see wonderful things up here! looks like im lucky to have tasted the bread..hahahah

  3. I’m not much of a bread baker – but I tend to bake yeast free recipes, such as soda bread, which minimises any chance of error. Also, I’m not patient enough to do all the kneading and waiting and then smashing it down again. But, good for you to give it a go. My boyfriend’s mum is an expert at baking bread and I know that the advice she would give you is to just keep doing it. Only then can you compare your experiences, and really work out the best method. (On another note – I love that you bake this bread in a pot! So cute!)

    1. Thanks Gabriela. This is a recipe that went viral on the internet so I decide to give it a try. But I prefer the kind made using traditional method. Like the ones shared by Anto and Kenley. You are right, I will just need to keep doing it to work out the best method for me. Baking intimidates me because I got no control when things are in the oven. It’s just like sending my promos to competitions and not knowing how it would be till the final moment. But I guess that’s part of life too. There are many things that we can’t control in life but only to do our best and hope all will work out fine. Great to hear from you.

  4. This bread looks delicious. I’ve noticed that if I have the patience to knead with care I will get a consistency that I prefer…but it is of course a matter of taste! Good luck!

    1. Thank you for the tip. I’ve returned to baking using the kneading method. It turns out ok as a firm white bread but I am still trying to achieve those with bigger air pockets and a really crispy curst type. Please share with me if you got great tips. 🙂

  5. I cannot believe I missed your beautiful bread before. This looks sensational. Perfect with the prawns and pesto!! I am not a bread maker; yet this is inspiring!!

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words Judy.

      It looks good on the outside but very gummy on the inside. not the kind i prefer though. i realized bread is a staple for me besides pasta. so it makes sense for me to spend time discovering. i have been experimenting and baking bread since. hoping to achieve french batard kind of quality but i think it may take years before i can make it happen 🙂

    1. Thank you very much for your nice comment. You are too kind. I am still an amateur trying to learn the right technique in baking. There is a lot more room for improvement. 🙂

  6. hi and thanks for the useful article! I have been searching for stuff like to this.
    i’ll be subscribing your Feed so i do not miss the good things! once again, great web site remember to keep this up! Please pardon me if my english is bad.

Leave a Reply

