LEMON TARTS

tarts

I happen to be at Savour Singapore last Friday just in time to join a free baking class. I was overjoyed when I know that we are making lemon tarts. This is my first tart with the flavor I love.  Honestly, I was quite afraid of the amount of egg yolks, butter, sugar and cream that goes into it. I will probably cut down on the sugar if I make it again. 

It was a 90 minutes session which leave us with not enough time to do a proper knead and rest the dough. Bain Marie was done in a rush and the finish product was unable to set in the fridge long enough to be ready for garnish.

I did an untidy job in pressing the dough to the cups which turns out ugly but it was still a great experience and I am not afraid to start making desserts now.

me

 

recipe

49 thoughts on “LEMON TARTS

    1. Aw..Dani, you are too kind. Thank you very much. Happy you like it. Glad I was there. I would love to try making a quiche.Do you have a simple recipe to share? …..danny

  1. Your made lemon tarts look so yellow! I never used gelatin in lemon tarts before!! You look cool in the kitchen! Thanks for sharing your experience & recipe! beautiful they are! x

    1. Thank you Anne. The class was fun! I made four tarts that night. They were better after setting overnight in the fridge. Can’t eat all of them too 🙂

  2. These lemon tarts still look lovely to me. 🙂 I wish there are free cooking classes in my area (but I don’t think so). Guess can’t ask for more when they teach you without charging a fee. 😛

    1. Thank you Amy. Free classes are not common at all. I was just at the right place at the right time. You are right. I can’t complain at all since I don’t have to pay a fee 🙂

  3. oh what fun..i love a good cooking class..well your tarts looks just beautiful…lemon tarts are one of my all time favorites, a perfect summer treat… i will have to give your recipe a try…hope to see more of your baking skills 🙂 sarah

    1. Sarah! 🙂 Thank you for the nice comment. I am glad you like them. I love lemon tarts too. That’s why I was overjoyed when I knew we were gonna make them. This recipe is too sweet for me. If you try, do let me know how it worked for you 🙂 ….danny

  4. What a great experience: a free baking class for a dessert; lemon tarts; I love them but I have never prepared them, yours look delicious! the color of these tarts is so pretty too! Oh! I can imagine the amount of sugar that goes into these; I do the same thing: I reduce the amount of sugar in many of my recipes 🙂 Love that you shared this experience with us Dany and that you included your picture too!

    1. Hi Ingrid. Thank you very much for liking it. The yellow color comes from the number of egg yolks and butter that goes into it which is pretty scary as well..Lol ! Can’t wait to bake more tarts and pies. Will probably reduce the amount sugar just like you did..:-)

  5. It does sound like you were in the right place…it must have been an enjoyable experience. Lemon desserts are my favorite and your tarts look terrific.

  6. Lemon tarts remind me of the time I used to make my friend/co-worker buy me some from a bakery in exchange for me going to work earlier and attending meetings he didn’t want to go to. I hope you enjoyed your learning experience and you are able to make this again at your own pace.

    1. Thank you very much my friend. That was my first and only cooking/baking class 🙂 I was excited in the process but really had fun. The tarts are a little too sweet for me but I will give it another try 🙂

  7. Lucky you to attend such a fun baking class! I love lemon too and I can see making these pretty lemon tarts for dinner or house guests. I suppose you’ll be experimenting in your “test kitchen” to personalize the recipe. I only wish I could be a taste tester for you! 😉

    1. Hi Allison! Thank you very much for your nice comment. I had a really busy month at work..haven’t got time to experiment it all over again..but i will. 🙂 And I would love to have you as my taste tester 🙂

Leave a Reply

